Kenya Simbas’ Ephraim Oduor (left) square a dispute with Kaman Gassam of Senegal Droit during the Rugby Africa Cup Pool B at the Nyayo National stadium on Saturday, July 3, 2021. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Kenya Simbas head coach Paul Odera has made six changes and several positional switches to his squad ahead of the Rugby Africa Cup match against Zambia to be played on Sunday at Nyayo Stadium.

The Simbas lost 20-19 to Senegal in their opening match last weekend and Odera is looking to respond aggressively in today’s crunch tie which if they lose will disqualify them from the Rugby World Cup qualifiers.

Kabras Sugar duo of George Nyambua and debutante Eugene Sifuna have been handed starts alongside Ian Njenga, Emmanuel Silungi, Dominic Coulson and Samuel Asat as Griffin Musila, Andrew Siminyu, Bryceson Adaka and Thomas Okeyo start from the bench.

Odera also made a few positional changes for the Simbas with Jone Kubu starting at flyhalf, swapping places with Charles Kuka who is moved to fullback as Samuel Asati, whose first two caps for Kenya have come from the scrum position will start this clash at outside center.

Davis Chenge who started last weekend’s game in the second row is deployed to the blindside while Joshua Chisanga reverts to the number eight slot.

Stephen Sakari and John Okoth do not make the matchday 23 through injury in the match which Kenya must win to finish second in the pool and qualify for the 2022 Rugby Africa Cup which serves as the 2023Rugby World Cup African qualifying tournament.

Kenya Simbas1.Ian Njenga (Nondescripts – 3 caps)2. Eugene Sifuna (Kabras Sugar- debut),3. Ephraim Oduor (Kabras Sugar – 7 caps),4. Emmanuel Silungi (Homeboyz – 5 caps),5. George Nyambua (Kabras Sugar – 23 caps),6. Davis Chenge (KCB – 27 caps),7. Daniel Sikuta (Kabras Sugar, Co-Captain – 16 caps),8. Joshua Chisanga (Kenya Harlequin – 32 caps),9. Samson Onsomu ( Impala Saracens, Captain – 28 caps),10. Jone Kubu (Kabras Sugar – 1 cap),11. Brian Tanga (Kabras Sugar – 1 cap),12. Dominic Coulson (University of Exeter – 2 caps),13. Samuel Asati (KCB – 2 caps),14. Darwin Mukidza (KCB – 39 caps),15. Charles Kuka (Mwamba -7 caps) 

REPLACEMENTS 16. Griffin Musila (KCB – 6 caps), 17. Andrew Siminyu (University of Johannesburg- 1 caps),18. Patrick Ouko (KCB – 15 caps),19. Thomas Okeyo (Top Fry Nakuru – 1 cap),20. Elkeans Musonye (Impala Saracens – 17 caps),21. Barry Robinson (Kabras Sugar- debut),22. Bryceson Adaka (Kabras Sugar – 1 cap), 23.Isaac Njoroge (KCB – 5 caps)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here