Tips from her son guides Githaiga to victory
Chairman Captain Joe Kehara in action during the Chairman Prize golf tournament played at Kenya Railway Golf Club, February 6, 2021. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

Morning Team golfer Faith Githaiga emerged the overall winner of Chairman (Captain Joe Kehara) 2020 Prize at the par-72 Kenya Railway Golf Club over the weekend.

Githaiga, playing alongside her son Brian, former Lady Captain Janealice Mutuota and Don Kagicha, returned a differential score of 26 points to clinch the title.

Playing off handicap 27, Githaiga returned 65 nett on the first day of the tournament played under medal scoring format and a whooping 39 stableford points on the second day to beat a huge field of 324 golfers, who participated in the two-day meet.

The tournament was presented by Flight Training Center, Postal Corporation of Kenya, Kenya Railway Golf Club, NCBA and Friends of Captain Joe Kehara.

The tournament was to celebrate Flight Captain Joe Kehara’s time at the helm of the club’s management, whose highlight was initiation of the course’s irrigation system, rehabilitation of the lounge as well as construction of a perimeter fence.

“In addition to few infrastructural changes I initiated together with my committee during my tenure, I’m glad that we also increased the membership though drives, which is geared towards making Railway a premier golf club in the region,” said Captain Kehara.

On her win, Githaiga attributed her success to more practice, which helped her rectify some challenges that affected her game.

Incessant prodding from her playing mate and son Brian was vital in helping her improve on her game and increase her distance, which ultimately paid off with the surprise win.

Githaiga’s resolve to drop in her handicap through consistency with regular practice, saw her play a relaxed game in the fun-filled round.

Tips from her son guides Githaiga to victory
The tournament was to celebrate Flight Captain Wilfred Kehara’s time at the helm of the club’s management. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

Overall Men winner prize went to Morgan Chirchir on a score of 32 (69-37) differential points beating Sho Onyango on count-back with a similar score of 32 (67-35) differential points to pick the Overall Men second prize.

John Kamenyi was Overall Men winner third with 36 (74-38) differential point as SG Gakere settled for Overall Men winner fourth with 37(73-36) differential points.

Donning the Ladies gong on a score of 35 differential points was S Muraguri while former Lady Captain Janealice Mutuota came in second with 37 differential points.

Overall Gross winner for both days was F Kimanzi with 158 Gross points. Best Past Chairman prize went to Ken Kaburu with 43 differential points.

Mitanshi Thakker posted 37 differential points to claim the Best Junior golfer prize.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here