Sweetness as 14-man Kabras thrash Quins to reclaim Kenya Cup top spot
Brian Tonya of Kabras Sugar (center) bullies his way through Kenya Harlequin’s Edward Shitanda. [Washington Onyango,Standard]

Kabras Sugar reclaimed their top spot after thrashing Kenya Harlequin 43-5 despite being reduced to 14-men in an entertaining Kenya Cup match played at the RFUEA ground on Saturday.

Derrick Ashiundu was red carded early in the first half for a dangerous tackle on Quins hooker Bonface Ochieng but Kabras went on to defy their numerical disadvantage to dominate the game, scoring seven tries past a hopeless Quins side.

Felix Ayange bagged a brace as George Nyambua, Alfred Orege, Brian Tanga, Walter Okoth and new signing Aron Adhanja all went over for the 2016 champions to register their third consecutive bonus win of the campaign.

George Nyambua crossed the whitewash for a try that was converted by Ntabeni Dukisa to give the visitors the lead in a match which Quins went seeking to avenge their 29-10 loss suffered in the season-opening Sisimka Charity Cup las month.

Quins prayers were almost answered when the sugar millers were dealt a huge blow after Ashiundu was red carded for a dangerous tackle on Quins hooker Ochieng which the hosts were quick to utilize with Roxy Suchi going over the white wash to becoming the first player to score a try against Kabras this season.

However, Kabras responded through Alfred Orege who extended the millers advantage with a try that Dukisa converted before the visitors extended their lead on the stroke of half time through Ayange’s unconverted try.

Kabras continued to play on the front foot and they were rewarded after Brian Tanga, Ayange, substitute Aaron Adhanja, and Walter Okoth sealed the win for Mzingaye Nyathi’s team.


Kabras squad: 1. Ephraim Oduor, 2. Eugene Sifuna, 3. Asuman Mugerwa, 4.Hillary Odhiambo 5.Brian Juma 6. C) Dan Sikuta 7. George Nyambua, 8.Jeanson Musoga , 9. Brian Tanga, 10. Ntabeni Dukisa, 11.Alfred Orege , 12. Walter Okoth, 13. Bryceson Agesa, 14. Derrick Ashiundu , 15 Felix Ayange

Kenya Harlequins: 1. Elisha Koronya – C 2. Boniface Ochieng 3. Ayub Kimutai 4. Hillary Baraza 5. Roxy Dan Suchi 6. Kevin Angote 7. Edward Shitanda 8. Joshua Chisanga 9. Dominic Osino 10. Isaac Wafula 11. Dennis Otieno 12. Leroy Kamau 13. James McGreevy – VC 14. Mark Wandetto 15. Brian Oyando



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here