Rugby: Injera out as Simiyu names Oyoo to captain Kenya 7s for Madrid trip
Head Coach Kenya Sevens Squad Innocent Simiyu during the naming of the Kenya Sevens squad for the Wellington and Sydney Sevens at Kenya Rugby Football Union on Wednesday, Jan 18 2017. [PHOTO: PHOTO: JONAH ONYANGO/STANDARD]

Kenya 7s head coach Innocent Simiyu on Friday named his final travelling squad for the Spain 7s Tournaments scheduled for February 21.

The tournaments set for Madrid ate one of several high-performance focused opportunities being scheduled during the first half of 2021 to assist in the development and preparation of sevens teams ahead of the Olympic Games.

The Shujaa squad to Madrid for inter-regional high-performance preparation events will be co-captained by Nelson Oyoo and Herman Humwa.

Head coach Simiyu named left out Kenya’s all time try top scorer Collins Injera for the tournament set to be hosted by the Federación Española de Rugby (FER) and supported by World Rugby.

The tournament will feature up to 12 men’s and 12 women’s teams participating across two successive weekends of Feb20-21 and Feb 27-28.

It will be the first tournament for teams since the 2020 Vancouver 7s which was played on 8 March 2020.

Simiyu who made a return as the Kenya 7s Head Coach in October following the departure of Paul Feeney has picked a 15-man squad for the two tournaments.

The side will see the return Harold Anduvate and Derrick Keyoga.

 Mwamba’s Tony Omondi, Oilers Mark Kwemoi have also been included in the squad which also includes Jeff Olouch, Jacob Ojee, Willy Ambaka, Billy Odhiambo, Andrew Amonde, Vincent Onyala, Daniel Taabu and Johnstone Olindi maintaining their slots.

Rugby: Injera out as Simiyu names Oyoo to captain Kenya 7s for Madrid trip
Shujaa players hurdle before their Tusker Safari Sevens 2019 tournament match against Samurai at RFUEA Grounds on October 20, 2019. Shujaa won 19-14. [Photo/Stafford Ondego/]

Alvin Marube, Bush Mwale and Levy Amunga are named as non-travelling subs.

Kenya 7s

Nelson Oyoo, Herman Humwa, Alvin Buffa Otieno, Andrew Amonde, Harold Anduvate, Vincent Onyala, Willy Ambaka, Daniel Taabu, Johnstone Olindi, Mark Kwemoi, Omondi Tony, Billy Odhiambo, Derrick Keyoga, Jacob Ojee, Jeff Oluoch.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here