Ronaldo beats Messi, Lewandowski to win Golden Foot Award
Nominees for the Best FIFA football player, Barcelona and Argentina forward Lionel Messi (R) and Real Madrid and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo (L) chat before taking their seats for The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony, on October 23, 2017 in London. [AFP PHOTO / Ben STANSALL]

Juventus and Portugal talisman Cristiano Ronaldo won the 18th edition of the Golden Foot Award on Tuesday, beating Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) and Mohamed Salah (Liverpool).

According to Football Italia, Ronaldo garnered more votes than Messi, Lewandowski, his club teammate Giorgio Chiellini, Salah, Neymar, Sergio Ramos, Sergio Aguero, Gerard Pique and Inter Milan midfielder Arturo Vidal.

The trophy is voted for by the general public from a shortlist of 10 superstars every year.

Ronaldo beats Messi, Lewandowski to win Golden Foot Award
Football – Bundesliga – Bayern Munich v Eintracht Frankfurt – Allianz Arena, Munich, Germany – October 24, 2020. Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski celebrates scoring their third goal to complete his hat-trick. [Pool via REUTERS/Christof Stache]

It was a Juventus Double as president Andrea Agnelli was also awarded the first edition of the Golden Foot Prestige, chosen by a commission of international media figures.

The Golden Foot award is an international football award, given to players who stand out for their athletic achievements (both as individuals and team players) and for their personality.

The award is only given to active players of at least 28 years of age, and can only be won once.

Ronaldo beats Messi, Lewandowski to win Golden Foot Award
Football – Champions League – Group Stage – Group H – Juventus v BSC Young Boys – Allianz Stadium, Turin, Italy – October 2, 2018. Juventus sporting director Fabio Paratici, director Pavel Nedved and president Andrea Agnelli inside the stadium before the match. [REUTERS/Massimo Pinca/File Photo]

Ten players are chosen by a panel of international journalists based on the criteria that they are at least 28 years of age and still playing.

Out of this list, the winner is selected by an online poll, where anyone can vote.

The winner of the award leaves a permanent mould of his footprints on “The Champions Promenade”, on the seafront of the Principality of Monaco.

Ronaldo beats Messi, Lewandowski to win Golden Foot Award
The Golden Foot Award. [Photo: Courtesy]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here