Ngugi wins Railways Captain Prize 2020
Outgoing Kenya Railways Golf Club Captain Jonathan Marucha during Captain’s Prize 2020 at the par-72 course, November 30, 2020. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

Last weekend was action packed in the golfing circles as several clubs held Captain prize tournaments marking the end of captaincy as well as usher in new captains.

At Railways golf club; Captain (Jonathan Marucha) prize drew a huge field of 143 golfers as he handed over the mantle to the youthful duo of Captain Ronnie Maina and Nathan Njuguna as Vice-Captain.

During the tournament, Dr Paul Ngugi claimed the Overall title on a score of 32 differential points. In second place was Francis Kimanzi on a score of 38 differential points beating S Mbugua on countback to Overall third with a similar score of 38 differential Points.

JaneAlice Mutuota was the Lady winner with 32 differential points as M Mello took Lady winner second prize with 30 differential points.

Fresh from winning the Carlisle Cup last weekend John Lejirma was the Gross winner with 158 Gross points. Best Past Captain prize went to JW Kung’u after he edged out Frank Ombura on countback with 45 differential points.

Sponsor winner prize was won by RN Maina with 28 differential points as R Kitur bagged Guest Men winner prize on a score of 28 differential points.

In the commercials; Edward Guda claimed the Longest Drive Men prize with Rosemary Omanyo taking the Longest Drive Ladies prize.

Nearest to Pin lady winner prize was won by immediate former Lady Captain JaneAlice Mutuota as Joel Mageto won in the men’s category.

At Nyeri Golf Club, Professional golfer Mathew Githinji was elected as the new Captain after trouncing former Vice-Captain Benson Mungai with a landslide victory upon garnering 73 votes against Mungai’s 20 votes. Githinji’s Vice-Captain will be Zachary Wambugu.

Other members of their golf committee are; Handicap manager Senior Baldev Singh, Green keeper Father Paul Kimani, Lady Captain Jane Nderitu and Father Felix Kibicho as a committee member while there will be a repeat election next Friday to determine the winner between Rose Komu and Engineer Jacinta Mwangi after they were both tied with 52 votes each for the second committee member slot.

Kakamega Sports Club former rally navigator Rajinder Singh’s Sembi who is also the patron of Westernmost Bulls is the new Captain replacing Allan Mola with Salim Amusala as his vice-captain.

Thika Sports Club will have Captain Wanjau Gathuri with Chris Mwenda as Vice-Captain after the exit of Edward Nyamu.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here