Manchester United icon Eric Cantona [Courtesy]

Manchester United icon Eric Cantona has become the latest star to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

The Frenchman was a vital component of the United sides that tasted early Premier League success under Sir Alex Ferguson, and won four Premier League titles in five seasons before retiring in 1997.

He scored 70 goals in 156 appearances for the club, and joins initial inductees Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry in the Hall of Fame.

“I am very happy and very proud and at the same time, I am not surprised!” said Cantona.

“Of course, to play in England was a dream. It is a dream of everybody to play in the Premier League.

“I have been lucky to play in this [Manchester United] team with wonderful players, a wonderful manager and wonderful fans.

“It was the football I dreamt about because Manchester United is a club where they want to win things but in a good way. It was like this in the time of Matt Busby. This is the identity of this club, the philosophy of this club.”

The next inductee will be announced at 1pm on Tuesday, with further additions and 9am and 1pm on Wednesday and Thursday.

Take a quick survey and help us improve our website
Take a survey

The 23-man shortlist for the next Hall of Fame inductee:

Tony Adams, David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Sol Campbell, Eric Cantona, Andrew Cole, Ashley Cole, Didier Drogba, Les Ferdinand, Rio Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Matt Le Tissier, Michael Owen, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, John Terry, Robin van Persie, Nemanja Vidic, Patrick Viera, Ian Wright.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here