Kenya to renew rivalry with Uganda at Dubai 7s second leg
Kenya Sevens Jefferey Oluoch (right) in action at Dubai 7s. [Courtesy-Dubai 7s]

The Kenya national rugby sevens team, Shujaa, will on Thursday renew their rivalry with Uganda when the second leg of the Emirates Dubai Sevens Invitational tournament kicks off at The Sevens Stadium, Dubai.

Kenya Sevens finished third at the first leg of the Dubai event after defeating Japan 26-14 in the third-place playoffs.

Kenya will face neighbours Uganda, Canada and Spain in Pool Blue with an eye set on reclaiming the top spot after a dismal performance in the group stages last week.

Shujaa finished a distanced third in their pool behind leaders France and Spain after winning one, drawing one and losing one match in the three group matches played.

In pool red, champions Ar gentina will launch their title defense against France before playing Japan and then fellow South Americans Chile.

Andrew Amonde captain the team alongside Billy Odhiambo as his assistant.

The squad comprises of playmaker Eden Agero, Vincent Onyala, Alvin Otieno, Bush Mwale, Willy Ambaka, Harold Anduvate, Johnstone Olindi, Daniel Taabu, Tony Omondi, Jefferey Olouch, Nelson Oyoo, Jacob Ojee and Derrick Keyoga.

Meanwhile, Kenya lionesses will face Japan, USA, Brazil and Canada in their round-robin pool format.

Kenya to renew rivalry with Uganda at Dubai 7s second leg
Kenya lionesses  [Courtesy-Dubai 7s]

The Invitational sevens event will act as a competitive training camp including two tournament weekends for some of the best rugby sevens teams in the world as part of the Tokyo Olympics Preparations.

The Emirates Invitational 7s will see fourteen international rugby teams who are already into bio-bubbles across the Emirate participate in the Olympic preparation event with all training and competition at the home of the Emirates Dubai 7s, The Sevens Stadium.

World Rugby accredits the tournament with international referees and officials flying into support as part of their own Olympic preparation.



Red: Japan, Argentina, Chile, France

Blue: Canada, Spain, Kenya, Uganda


Brazil, Kenya, USA, France 1, France 2, Japan, Canada


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here