Kenya Morans head coach names squad for Afrobasket qualifiers
The Kenya Morans team. [Courtesy]

Kenya Morans head coach Liz Mills has released her list of 12 players that will represent Kenya in the second and final round of Afrobasket qualifiers.

Kenya depart for Yaounde, Cameroon on Monday for the Group “B” qualifiers that tip-off later in the week.

They will face Senegal, Angola and Mozambique respectively from February 19 to 21.

Kenya lie third in the group and can clinch a place in the African finals by matching the results of fourth-placed Mozambique.

Highly rated Senegal lead the group followed by Angola.

Kenya will be seeking a ticket to the Afrobasket Championship set for Rwanda later in April.

The vastly experienced Mills, who has been coaching in Africa for 10 years now made two other changes to the squad by dropping point guard Victor Bosire and Fahim Juma.

Griffin Ligare will captain the team that includes Erick Mutoro, Joseph Khaemba, Tylor Okari, Preston Bungei and Victor Ochieng among others.

Kenya Morans head coach names squad for Afrobasket qualifiers
Kenya Morans Power Forward Ariel Okall. [Courtesy]

Mills joined Morans earlier this year with her last assignment helping Patriots of Rwanda to a first-place finish at the Basketball Africa League qualifiers in Kigali Rwanda in 2019.

Equity Bank’s guard Victor Ochieng and Ulinzi Warriors guard Joseph Khaemba are the only local-based new players in the Kenya Morans team.

The following are the names of the players who will be traveling to Yaounde, Cameroon.

Kenya Morans squad: Griffin Ligare (captain), Erick Mutoro, Joseph Khaemba, Tylor Okari, Preston Bungei, Victor Ochieng, Valentine Nyakinda, Ariel Koranga, Joel Awich, Ronnie Gombe, Tom Wamukota, Desmond Blacio, Fidel Okoth.

Technical bench: Liz Mills (head coach), Sadat Gaya (assistant coach)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here