Kariobangi Sharks’ Eric Kapaito is the winner of FKF Premier League’s most valuable player. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Kariobangi Sharks striker Erick Kapaito was on Tuesday night crowned the Most Valued Player for the 2020-21 season in the Awards Gala held at the Safari Park Hotel.

Kapaito, who also got the Golden Boot Award, pocketed  a total of Sh800,000 (Sh500,000 for MVP and Sh300,000 for category winner) and monumental trophies engraved with his name.

The 25 year-old, who also won the MVP award for the 2017-18 season,  beat Tusker’s Eugene Asike, Lawrence Juma, James Saruni, Henry Meja and Elvis Rupia to scoop the award.

Kariobangi Sharks’ Eric Kapaito is the winner of FKF Premier League’s Golden boots. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Tusker coach Robert Matano was named Coach of the Year after leading the brewers to their 12th Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Premier League title.

Referee of the Year Award went to FIFA referee Peter Waweru, with Mary Njoroge taking the Assistant Referee of the Year Award.

FKF President Nick Mwendwa presenting FkF Premier League Coach of the year trophy to Robert Matano Coach Tusker FC, at Safari Park. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Ulinzi Stars custodian James Saruni scooped the Golden Glove award after conceding the least number of goals in the League.

Other winners of FKF Premier League awards category with Nick Mwendwa (fourth left) at Safari Park. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Sofapaka’s Lawrence Juma was named Midfielder of the Year while Eugene Asike scooped the Defender of the Year award.

All the category winners took home sh 300,000, Runners-up pocketed sh200,000 while the third placed received sh 100,000.

The MVP also got three nights at Mombasa.

Other winners that were awarded are:

 2020-21 FKF Premier League Winners

MVP: Erick Kapaito – Kariobangi Sharks;

Golden Glove: James Saruni – Ulinzi Stars – WINNER, Joseph Okoth – KCB FC -Runner-up and Steve Njunge – Nairobi City Stars – Runner-up.

Defender of the Year: Eugene Asike – Tusker FC – WINNER, David Kalama – Bidco United – Runner-up, and Nashon Alembi – KCB FC – Third.

Midfielder of the Year: Lawrence Juma – Sofapaka FC – WINNER, Anthony Kimani – Nairobi City Star – Runner-up, and Jackson Macharia – Tusker– Third

Golden Boot: Erick Kapaito, Young Player of the year.

Young Player of the Year: Henry Meja – Tusker FC – WINNER, Lawrence Luvanda – Vihiga United – Runner-up, and Sylvester Owino – Kakamega Homeboyz – Third.

Fair Play Team of the Year: Kariobangi Sharks – WINNER, Tusker FC – Runner-up, and KCB FC – Third.

Coach of the Year: Robert Matano – Tusker FC – WINNER, Zedekiah Otieno – KCB FC – Runner-up, and Andre Casa Mbungo – Bandari FC – Third.

Digital Team of the Year: Tusker FC – WINNER, Bandari FC – Runner-up, and Kariobangi Sharks – Third.

Referee of the Year: Peter Waweru – WINNER, Anthony Ogwayo – Runner-up, and Davis Omweno – Third.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here