Harambee Stars coach 'Ghost' Mulee names squad ahead of AFCON qualifiers
Harambee Stars head coach Jacob ‘Ghost’ Mulee. [Photo: Kelly Aodi, Standard]

Harambee Stars head coach Jacob ‘Ghost’ Mulee named his provisional squad on Friday ahead of the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers in March.

The 28 local-based players kick off non-residential training on Monday, in Nairobi.

Among notable inclusions in the team is KCB goalkeeper Joseph Okoth, AFC Leopards midfielder Collins Shichenje, and KCB’s Nahashon Alembi.

Mulee has also called back Wazito midfielder Kevin Kimani while Tusker’s in-form forward Henry Meja, who featured for the U20 Rising Stars at the CECAFA U20 Championships last year, also has a chance to play for the national team.

Harambee Stars coach 'Ghost' Mulee names squad ahead of AFCON qualifiers
Gor Mahia’s Boniface Omondi (right) battles for ball possession against Collins Shichenje of AFC Leopards during their KPL Derby at Kasarani Stadium on Sunday 08/03/2020. Gor won 1-0.[Boniface Okendo,Standard]

Kenyans play Egypt, at home, on March 22, 2020, and Togo, away, on March 30, 2020, in the final rounds of the 2022 AFCON Qualifiers.

2022 World Cup qualifiers have also been lined up between June and November, this year.

The team:


Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks), James Saruni (Ulinzi Stars), Joseph Okoth (KCB), Peter Odhiambo (Wazito)


Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito), Michael Kibwage (Sofapaka), Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks), Nahashon Alambi (KCB), Bonface Onyango (Kariobangi Sharks), David Owino (KCB), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks), Baraka Badi (KCB)

Harambee Stars coach 'Ghost' Mulee names squad ahead of AFCON qualifiers
Ulinzi Stars FC’s Bonventure Michika and Erick Kapaito (left) of Kariobangi Sharks FC during their FKF PL match at Kasarani stadium. The game ended in a barren draw on Saturday Jan 2, 2021. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]


Lawrence Juma (Sofapaka), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Collins Shichenje (AFC Leopards), Micheal Mutinda (KCB), Musa Masika (Wazito), John Macharia (Gor Mahia), Reagan Otieno (KCB), James Mazembe (Kariobangi Sharks), Oliver Maloba (Nairobi City Stars), Bonface Muchiri (Tusker), Kevin Kimani (Wazito), Abdalla Hassan (Bandari)


Erick Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks), Elvis Rupia (AFC Leopards), Henry Meja (Tusker), Benson Omalla (Gor Mahia)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here