There were plenty of familiar faces recalled as new Harambee Stars coach Engin Firat named his final travelling squad to play Mali in a 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifier.

Firat dropped nine players from his initial preliminary list as the team leaves Nairobi on Monday night for Morocco where they are scheduled to play Mali in their third match of Group E.

David Odhiambo, Ismael Gonzalez and Abud Omar who have been recalled for the first time since the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

Winger Ovella Ochieng had earlier asked to be excused as he said he needed time to settle at his new club Marumo Gallants in South Africa and has this not been named in the final squad.

Also dropped include reigning FKF Premier League goalkeeper of the year James Saruni as well as the Kariobangi Sharks trio of defender Samwel Olwande, midfielder Patillah Omotto and striker Sydney Lokale.

The Turkish tactician has maintained a huge chunk of the squad that played against Uganda and Rwanda with KMC keeper Faruk Shikalo replacing Saruni in the team to face Mali.

Tusker FC youngster Eric Zakayo has also made the final travelling team and is in line for a senior team debut.

Kenya are second in Group E with 2 points, behind league leaders Mali who command the standings with 4 points.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here