France became the second winners of the UEFA Nations League on Sunday after coming from a goal down to beat Spain 2-1 in Milan.

Karim Benzema and Kylian Mbappe struck to claim the title for world champions France after Mikel Oyarzabal put Spain ahead midway through the second half.

Mbappe scored a contentious winner, with lots of talk of him being offside but the referee insisted that an Eric Garcia touch played the Frenchman on.

France, who reached the final by coming from 2-0 down to beat neighbours Belgium 3-2, displayed that never say die attitude once more to add another trophy to the cabinet.

Les Bleus came out on top of a match at the San Siro which came to life after Oyarzabal slid home the opener in the 64th minute.

As well as the two goals from their superstar attackers, France had other opportunities to score through Mbappe before a frantic finish in which Spain launched an assault on the French goal.

Karim Benzema, who was awarded the man of the match award, scored an absolute beauty to restore parity three minutes after Spain took the lead.

Didier Deschamps can thank Hugo Lloris the match didn’t go into extra-time after the France captain pulled off a fine stoppage time save to deny Yeremi Pino a late leveller.

Deschamps has now lifted the World Cup both as player and coach for France and has now added the Nations League to his resume.

Portugal were the only previous winners of the competition, beating Netherlands 1-0 in the 2019 final.

Earlier Italy took third place after beating Belgium 2-1 in Turin through goals form Nicolo Barella and Domenico Berardi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here