Simon Ngige swings at NyalI during day one of the Tour.[Maarufu Mohamed]

Kenyans Kenneth Bollo, Simon Ngige and Erick Ooko rounded up day one in tie yesterday in the ongoing Safari Tour golf series at Nyali Golf and Country Club’s par 71 course in Mombasa County.

The trio rounded up the 18 holes rounds with a one under par 70 gross each to lead going to round two today.

Kenya’s Njuguna Ngugi and Kibugu Mutahi along with Uganda’s Ronald Rugumayo and Malawi’s Paul Chidale shared the second slot with each bringing a level par 71 gross gross.

Zimbabwe’s Robson Chinhoi, Jacob Okello (Kenya), Tranos Muradzikwa (Zimbabwe), Alfred Nandwa (Kenya), and Dismas Indiza (Kenya) were third with each a one over par 72 gross.

68 of the professionals made the cut with only Promise Silla from Kenya missing after carding 89 gross.

This event that attracted 70 professional golfers comes after the third leg at the Great Rift Valley Golf Resort in Naivasha where Golf Park’s David Wakhu beat Samuel Njoroge of Kenya Railway Golf Club by three shots.

The new faces who joined the field at Nyali after missing the third leg in Naivasha included Coast-based Fred Kamau, lady pro Bhavi Shah, John Kisia, and Silla.

Others include Nigeria’s Sunday Olapade, Kevin Mabele from Kenya Air Force Golf Club, Sigona’s Sujan Shah, Zimbabwe’s Visitor Mapanywa and Uganda’s Deo Akope, Ronald Rugumayo, and Willy Kitata.

The golfers are in a four-day campaign for the top cash prize of Sh230,000 plus some points towards the “Road to Magical 2022 Kenya Open’.

Action tees off from 8am today from both the first tee off with the team of Visitor Mapwanya and Edwin Mudanyi while at the same time from the tenth tee will be the group of Andrew Chelogoi and Sunday Olapade.

The last flight team of the day will be at 9.40am with the team of Ronald Rugumayo, Njuguna Ngugi and amateur Taimur Malik teeing at the first tee off and same time from the tenth tee will be Jastus Madoya, Ganeev Giddie and Mathew Omondi.

Wine Box crowned Moi Cup champions

The team of handicap 2.5 Raphael Nzomo, Hiromi Nzomo (0), Rowena Stichbury (0) and Jamie Excel (-0.5) achieved the feat after amassing a total of five


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here